DEPís Gambling Vessel Registration Program
About the Program
Cruises to nowhere or day cruises are often gambling vessels that
depart from and return to a single port without stopping en route at any
other ports of call. These vessels sail into international waters for
the purpose of allowing their patrons to gamble, returning to their home
port in most cases in a matter of hours.
In July 2008, the Florida Clean Ocean Act, Section 376.25, Florida
Statutes was enacted, directing the Florida Department of Environmental
Protection (Department) to implement a registration program to regulate
releases of wastes from gambling vessels. In response to the
legislation, on April 4, 2010, the Department adopted
Chapter 62-606, Florida
Administrative Code (F.A.C.), Releases from Gambling Vessels.
Basic Rule Requirements
Chapter 62-606, F.A.C., requires gambling vessels operating in
coastal waters of the state to register with the Department, except as
provided below. Coastal waters are defined as waters within three
nautical miles of the Atlantic coast and nine nautical miles of the Gulf
coast. New gambling vessels beginning operations in coastal waters must
submit the registration application form and fee 30 days before the
vessel enters coastal waters. Registered vessels must renew annually.
The renewal application and fee are due 30 days before the expiration of
the existing registration, or by December 1st of each year. The
DEP Form 62-606.400(4)(a)
Gambling Vessel Registration Form, is available via download.
This rule does not apply to vessels that are defined as cruise ships
33 CFR 101.105 or to vessels of the U.S. Armed Forces. Vessels
that provide verification of waste treatment systems that produce
sterile, clear, odorless reuse water without generating solid waste and
eliminate the need to pump out or discharge wastewater are exempted from
registration. Verification of these systems should be provided on
DEP Form 62-606.400(4)(b),
Verification of Marine Waste Treatment System.
Gambling vessels are required to report releases of wastes within
Florida coastal waters unless wastes are released under emergency
situations. Discharges within coastal waters are required to be
reported to the State Watch Office Toll Free Number (800) 320-0519 .
Chapter 62-606, F.A.C. also requires owners of waterfront landing
facilities (berths) that are the registered locations for gambling
vessels and vessels used to transport passengers to gambling vessels
(shuttles) to provide waste management services. The following table
provides an estimate of the minimum waste-service demand for each berth
location of the registered vessels.
Table - Estimate of Minimum Waste
Service Demand for Waterfront-Landing Facilities (Berths)
|Tropical Breese Shuttle
|Big M Casino
||Ft. Myers Beach
Note: This information was updated in March 2015.
Please contact Cheryl Minskey at 850-245-8619 or at
Cheryl.Minskey@dep.state.fl.us for verification or for
Back to Wastewater | Compliance
| Domestic | Industrial