Florida Department of Environmental Protection Florida Department of Environmental Protection
 
* DEP Home * About DEP * Programs * Contact * Site Map * Search
MyFlorida.com  
Programs
Information
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader software.

Documents are Adobe Acrobat files, which will open in a new window, unless indicated, and require the free Reader Software.

Environmental Permit Fees

Joint Coastal Permit Fees
 

Joint Coastal Permit fees are the sum of the fees required by 62-4.050(4)(e) or (h), 62B-41.0085(3), and 18-21.008, .009, or .010, F.A.C.  Environmental Resource Permit fees are the sum of the fees required by 62-4.050(4)(h) and 18-21.008, .009, or .010. 

For more information regarding these fees, please contact the Environmental Permitting staff.

Fee revisions are reflected below.

  1. Coastal Construction Permit Fees
  2. Environmental Resource Permit fees
    1. Individual and Conceptual Approval Permits
    2. Standard General Permits
    3. Noticed General Permit
    4. Modifications
    5. Variances
  3. Wetland Resource Permit fees
    1. Modifications
    2. Variances
  4. Sovereignty Submerged Lands Authorization Fee

  1. Coastal Construction Fees (62B-41.0085(3), F.A.C.)

    1. Applications for construction and major modifications to existing coastal structures, any part of which are sited seaward of mean high-water on sovereignty submerged lands, shall be assessed a fee in accordance with the following schedule:
      1. Rigid coastal structures:
        1. Up to 100 feet in length. - $2,000
        2. For each additional 50 feet of length or portion thereof. - $500
      2. Beach restoration
        1. For first 50,000 cubic yards of fill. - $2,000
        2. For each additional 50,000 cubic yards of fill, or portion thereof. - $500
      3. Construction and maintenance dredging of inlets:
        1. For the first 10,000 cubic yards of dredged material - $2,000
        2. For each additional 10,000 cubic yards of dredged material or portion thereof if such material is placed in an upland or offshore disposal site. - $250
        3. For each additional 50,000 cubic yards of fill or portion thereof if such material is placed on the beach or approved nearshore area. - $500
      4. Inlet-related structures, major reconstruction and other major structures and activities: per structure. - $1,000
      5. Minor structures and activities, minor reconstruction of existing structures, amended applications, permits and administrative approval of each subsequent nourishment or maintenance dredging operation. - $500

      6. Requests for renewal reviews for long term inlet maintenance dredging permits. - $750
      7. Requests for time extensions or transfer of existing permits. - $100
    2. Permit fees for each individual structure, except minor structures, shall be added together for each application.
    3. The cost for special public notice incident to issuing permits under this Chapter shall be borne by the applicant. If the Department of Environmental Protection incurs any expense, notice to proceed shall not be issued until such costs are reimbursed.
    4. For projects which are cost-shared under Chapter 62B-36, F.A.C., with the state government, the local government may request waiver of the that portion of the fee above the local government pro rata share. In no case will the local pro rata share be less than $2,000.
    5. Experimental projects permitted under rule 62B-41.0075 shall be assessed the larger of a fee of $5000, or the permit fee specified in the appropriate fee schedule above, except the maximum fee shall not exceed $20,000.
    6. The Department is authorized to waive the permit application fees for removal, without replacement, of existing derelict coastal structures if a determination is made that they serve no public purpose, endanger human life, health or welfare, or are unnecessary or undesirable.

    Back to top

  2. Environmental Resource Permit Fees (Chapter 62-4.050(4)(h), F.A.C.)

    1. Individual and Conceptual Approval Permits

      Those systems that involve 1 acre or more of construction or alteration in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters, involve 10 or more new boat slips, are capable of impounding more than 120 acre feet, serve a total land area of 100 acres or more, or provide for the placement of 12 acres or more of impervious surface.

      1. For a system that involves <1 acre of construction alteration in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters and involves < 10 new boat slips but reaches any of the following three thresholds: - $3,510
      2. is capable of impounding more than 120 acre feet
      3. serves a total land area of 100 acres or more; or
      4. provides for the placement of 12 acres or more of impervious surface.
      5. For a system involving the following total acreage of construction or alteration in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters:
      6. 100 acres or more - $14,020
      7. 50 acres up to less than 100 acres - $11,220
      8. 10 acres up to less than 50 acres - $9,120
      9. 5 acres up to less than 10 acres - $7,710
      10. 2 acres up to less than 5 acres - $5,610
      11. 1 acre up to less than 2 acres - $4,210
    2. Standard General Permits

      Those systems below the thresholds listed above.

      1. For a system serving a project with a total land area < 100 acres and > 40 acres, with the following additional activities:
        1. Either the construction of 1- 9 new boat slips or the construction or alteration (other than new boat slips) in, on or over a total area of wetlands or other surface waters < 1 acre and > 0 acres. - $1,410
        2. No construction or alteration in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters. - $1,340
      2. For a system serving a project with a total land area less than 40 acres and more than 1 acre involving construction or alteration (other than new boat slips) in, on or over a total area of wetlands or other surface waters more than 0 acres but less than 1 acre.  - $850
      3. For a system serving a project with a total land area of less than 1 acre, involving construction or alteration (other than new boat slips) in, on or over a total area of wetlands or other surface waters more than 0 acres but less than 1 acre. - $710
      4. Environmental Resource “stormwater” Permit for a system serving a project with a total land area less than 40 acres and involving no construction or alteration in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters. - $420
    3. Noticed General Permit Noticed General Permit

      (see rule 62-341 for specific qualifying activities.) - $100

      Exemption Determination

      De minimus exemption. - $100

    4. Modifications

      1. For major modifications of Individual (Including Conceptual Approval) and Standard General Permits) as defined in paragraph 62-343.100(1)(b), F.A.C. - Same fee as a new application for the activity (applied to the difference in acreage, etc.)
      2. For major modifications of Individual and Conceptual Approval Permits (with an increase in project area). - $2,000
      3. For major modifications of Standard General Permits. - 50% of original application fee
      4. Minor modifications as defined in 62-4.050(4)(h)7b, where the modification will not require substantial technical evaluation by the Department and will not lead to substantially different environmental impact, or will lessen the impacts of the original permit.
        1. Minor errors or typographical mistakes and that do not involve technical review. - $0
        2. Changes requested by the Department or required through permits issued by other regulatory agencies, and to change due dates for reporting or performance deadlines when such changes in the due date do not involve any new work, any new work locations, or any new activities, and will not alter, replace, or otherwise eliminate the requirements for otherwise performing the work required by the permit - $0
        3. Transfers of permits or time extensions. - $80
        4. Minor technical changes which involve new work, new work locations, new activities, or any other change which alters, replaces, or otherwise eliminates the work authorized by the permit when the original permit fee of the issued permit is less than $300. - $250
        5. Minor technical changes which involve new work, new work locations, new activities, or any other change which alters, replaces, or otherwise eliminates the work authorized by the permit when the original permit fee of the issued permit is more than or equal to $300.  - $420
    5. Variances

      Variances -$830

      Back to top

  3. Wetland Resource Permit (Dredge and Fill Permit) Fees (Chapter  62-4.050(4)(e), F.A.C.)

    These permit fees pertain to projects that have been grandfathered according to Sections 373.414(11)(1994 Supp.), (12)(a)(1994 Supp.), (13), (14), (15) or (16), F.S., and projects, or portions thereof, located in the Northwest Florida Water Management District.

    1. Dredge and fill construction projects up to and including 5 years:
      1. Standard form projects including dredge and fill activities that affect 10 or more acres  of jurisdictional area pursuant to Rule 62-312.070(2), F.A.C. - $4,000
      2. Short form construction projects involving dredging or filling of 9.99 acres or less of jurisdictional area, pursuant to Rule 62-312.070 (2), F.A.C. - $830
    2. Dredge and fill construction permits in excess of 5 years:
      1. Short form permits from 6 years up to and including 10 years. - $4,950
      2. Standard form permits for odd years of more than 5 years but less than 15 years (7,9,11,13) - $1775 multiplied by the odd year
      3. Standard form permits for even years of more than 5 years but less than 15 years (6,8,10,12, 14) - ($1775 multiplied by the even year) + $5
      4. Standard form permits 15-25 years - $25,000
      5. 6 to 10 year permits for beach restoration projects approved pursuant to Chapter 161, F.S., and to maintenance dredge navigation channels, port harbors, turning basins and harbor berths located within deepwater ports, pursuant to Section 403.816, Florida Statutes. - $5,000
    1. Modifications

      1. Major modifications of Standard Form and Short Form Permits, as determined by Rule 62-312.100, F.A.C., and mitigation banks under Chapter 62-342, F.A.C., that increase the project area or involve four or more of the components listed in sub-subparagraph 62-4.050(4)(e)3.e., F.A.C., other than for Class I solid waste disposal facilities or as otherwise specified above (62-4.050(4)(e)4) - Same fee as for a new application for the activity
      2. Minor modifications (62-4.050(4)(e)4b)
        1. Minor errors or typographical mistakes and that do not involve technical review. - $0
        2. Changes requested by the Department or required through permits issued by other regulatory agencies, and to change due dates for reporting or performance deadlines when such changes in the due date do not involve any new work, any new work locations, or any new activities, and will not alter, replace, or otherwise eliminate the requirements for otherwise performing the work required by the permit  - $0
        3. Transfers of permits or time extensions. - $80
        4. Minor technical changes which involve new work, new work locations, new activities, or any other change which alters, replaces, or otherwise eliminates the work authorized by the permit when the original permit fee of the issued permit is less than $300, except for modifications to permits issued pursuant to Section 403.816, F.S. - $250
        5. Minor technical changes which involve new work, new work locations, new activities, or any other change which alters, replaces, or otherwise eliminates the work authorized by the permit when the original permit fee of the issued permit is more than or equal to $300, except for modifications to permits issued pursuant to Section 403.816, F.S. - $420
    2. Variances

      Variances - $830

      Back to top

  4. Sovereignty Submerged Lands Authorization Fee (Chapter 18-21.008, .009, or .010, F.A.C.)

    1. Fee for processing an easement or lease application - $619

View the rules

Last updated: March 27, 2014

   3900 Commonwealth Boulevard M.S. 49   Tallahassee, Florida 32399 | 850-245-2118 (phone) / 850-245-2128 (fax) | Email DEP 
DEP Home | About DEP  | Contact Us | Search |  Site Map